Very Vanilla Cupcakes with French Silk Frosting

One of the things I enjoy about Wednesday nights during this school year is church class.  I teach 10 very rambunctious 3rd & 4th graders.  Each week this class gives me my dose of kids and craziness, usually by the time I arrive home I need a beer.  Good thing we have started to brew our own, but I digress…  The class theme this year is wholly healthy, meaning we get both spiritually and physically healthy and usually a snack too as it is difficult to work on an empty stomach.  The snack each week varies from raisins, to apples, muffins, brownies, pretzels, etc.  When I am in the mood to bake a tried & true recipe or a new recipe they make for great taste testers.

Earlier this week I received my Taste of Home magazine and while checking it out spotted a recipe I had to try out, Very Vanilla Cupcakes.  I have been in a “cakie” mood lately so maybe that is why this recipe stuck out, or maybe because I was trying to think of an idea for church class this week… so with the outside temperature being like 5 degrees, I fired up the oven and gave this recipe a try.

Very Vanilla Cupcake as is, before frosting.

Very Vanilla Cupcake as is, before frosting.

Very Vanilla Cupcake Ingredients:
3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened (Megan Note: I used salted as that is what I had in the house and just decreased my salt a pinch)
1-1/2 cups sugar
3 eggs
1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2-1/3 cups cake flour (Megan Note: If you use an all purpose flour decrease to 2 1/8 cups to keep it from drying out)
2-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup whole milk (Megan Note: I used 2% and they turned out great)

Directions
In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla. In another bowl, mix the flour, baking powder and salt; add to creamed mixture alternately with milk, beating well after each addition.
Fill paper-lined muffin cups two-thirds full. Bake at 350° for 18-22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pans for 10 minutes. Remove to wire racks to cool completely.

They turned out delicious.  Unfrosted they had a bit of a pound cake flavor, but still needed frosting.  The recipe in the article calls for a buttercream frosting but after Huz and I tried the cupcake plain we knew a buttercream wouldn’t do for us chocolate hounds so we decided on french silk chocolate frosting.  This is a frosting recipe that brings back memories of my Aunt Beth and whopper cake (will have to share this one later), here is her frosting recipe:

Very Vanilla Cupcake frosted with french sillk frosting.

Very Vanilla Cupcake frosted with french silk frosting.

French Silk Chocolate Frosting:
2 2/3 Cup Confectioner Sugar
2/3 Cup Butter
2 OZ melted unsweetened chocolate
3/4 teaspoon of vanilla
2 tablespoons of Milk

In a bowl blend sugar, butter, chocolate and vanilla on low speed.  Gradually add milk and beat until smooth and fluffy. Spread.

Overall I would call this new recipe a success, and it will be added to my collection.  I think the rich yellow cake recipe I have which is used to make whopper cake with this frosting is still the best, but this is a nice second.

Happy baking!

PS: I just got word church class is canceled tonight, something to do with lake effect snow advisories and the temperature reading around 5 degrees!  Well I know whopper cake freezes well with this frosting, so here is hoping these freeze well too for next week (waste not want not).   My taste testers have no filter so we will find out their thoughts next week…  If for some reason they freeze for crapola I will be sure to let you know!  Cheers…

5 thoughts on “Very Vanilla Cupcakes with French Silk Frosting

  1. I love reading your blogs……it is as if I am actually listening to you live! You are toooo cute! Great job…..everything looks SNARF!

  2. I know for a fact that is awesome bread!! It is best with butter and plum jelly on top!! Yum Yum. Brings back wonderful memories from the kitchen of grandma McCormick!! I can still see her making it in her kitchen aid.

Leave a Reply

