Salsa Chicken!

This is a good recipe to share.  I love it for a few reasons:

  1. Has great flavor
  2. It is easy to “make now” and “bake later”
  3. Makes wonderful leftovers.  Huz is a leftover hound, he loves to pack them in his lunch.

First the recipe and directions, then at the bottom of the post you will find a few helpful hints on my favorite part of this recipe, which is “make now” and “bake later”.  Plus a Facebook “like” request!!!

Salsa Chicken: (From Aunt Beth)

  • 4 beasts of chicken skinned or 6 drumsticks skinned – set aside.
  • 1 1/2 cups salsa, (pick your spicy range) a 12 oz jar is usually enough. (We use our homemade canned stuff will share that recipe later)
  • 3 tablespoons of brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of dijon mustard
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1 cup-ish of chunky pineapple – juice drained – (or drink it, why waste good juice)
  • Optional – 1 small onion and couple of stalks of celery both chopped.

Directions:

If baking right away preheat oven to 350 or 375 . Combine all of the above except for the chicken in a large bowl and mix.  Note on the pineapple I usually add one 20 oz can of pineapple chunks, less the juice.  See picture below of the fully incorporated mixture.

Salsa Chicken 1

Then place your skinned chicken in a pan large enough to hold the chicken that has a cover if possible.  If not you can always use aluminum foil over the top while it is baking in the oven.  Here is the final dish in the pan, then into the oven covered.

Salsa Chicken 2

Bake for 1 to 1 & 1/2 hours in 350 or 375 degree oven covered.  It is done when the chickens internal juices run clear and the temperature reads around 170 degrees.  See finished product below!

Salsa Chicken 3

Few Tips:

  • Serve over rice.  This dish also pairs nicely with green beans.  (We have been working on eating our freezer beans, because before you know it July will be here and it will be time to put up the fresh beans from the garden.)
  • I love to make this dish during the day when I have time.  Then I pop it into the fridge until I am ready to bake it.  Sometimes I even program my oven to turn on & off and bake while I am out.  Yes you guessed it, I make this a lot on Wednesday nights.  Before I leave at 5ish for church class I pop it in the oven, program the oven to turn on & off, and by the time I get home at 7:45 I have a hot fresh-baked salsa chicken dinner waiting!
  • This is also a wonderful meal to make for those in need.

Please let me know if you have any comments or questions!  Enjoy ~ Megan

PS:  I know I know I need to get my butt back on facebook, soonish I think… but in the meantime.  Please take a moment to provide a  Facebook Like for Vodar Films.   Why?  ….

Infertility is an important personal topic to me.  To read more about why this film please visit:  Silent Sorority’s most recent blog post:  Let’s Make a Documentary, it starts with this:   “I don’t know how to  deal with this…” That’s a common response, albeit  usually unspoken, for people in the throes of reconciling an infertility diagnosis……..

Yes the Megan you see in comments of that blog is me.

Thanks! Megan

Leave a Reply

